Life Long Learners….

elkjaer_bente_lifelong_ibiologystephen.png

Wikipedia states that : Lifelong learning is the “ongoing, voluntary, and self-motivated” pursuit of knowledge for either personal or professional reasons. Therefore, it not only enhances social inclusion, active citizenship, and personal development, but also self-sustainability, as well as competitiveness and employ-ability. I have to agree with them. When I sat down in my first course for my BEd I knew that I would enjoy becoming a teacher because my professor shared with us her passion for learning. She boasted that as a teacher we must also be  life long learners. I LOVE learning new things so this was pretty exciting for me. I find that I am always asking why and how things work in our world.

Professional development is such an important part of being a teacher. As professionals we must strive to learn more every day so that we can share that knowledge with our students and instil in them the importance of seeking out new knowledge for themselves. I often ask my students,  How could we figure this problem out? What are the tools we have that will help us solve this? These kids are forever impressing me with their digital skills and knowledge.  I am currently signed up to attend the BCTLA conference in Burnaby at the end of October. How exciting, that I will get to absorb all sorts of knowledge from TLs from every stage of their career. The Daring Librarian is the headlining speaker. If you haven’t had a chance to check out her blog see the link below:

The Daring Librarian

I have also been inspired to look into Maker Spaces by one of my fellow LIBE classmates and I just registered for a seminar on creating a maker space for my classroom/library.
SD#22 Maker Spaces
I was reading up about how to create a maker space in a school or school library and I found a great article on Edutopia.com it was very informative and even suggested some fantastic resources to get started on a maker space in my school!
Edutopia : Maker Spaces

One way educators are connecting and sharing with each other is through taking courses like LIBE! Taking part in curricular meetings, Pro D, I have recently applied to a mentorship program that is offered through my school district. The strategies and tools I look forward to using include: continuing  on with my blog, searching out and following other educators on twitter, and seeking out new workshops that will allow me to learn more (in the past six weeks I have learned about so many cool new resources and have been lucky enough to find workshops that will allow me to explore!!).  After this class I would like to keep in touch with my peers- I will continue to follow their blogs. Having a network of TL’s will expose me to show many cool ideas!

Works Cited:

Life Long Learning Quotes [Photograph found in Contemporary Theories of Learning: Learning Theorists]. (n.d.). In Quoteaddicts.com. Retrieved October 11, 2016, from https://goo.gl/images/h1NHOU (Originally photographed 2003, March 01)
Librarian, @. -. (2003). The Daring Librarian. Retrieved October 13, 2016, from http://www.thedaringlibrarian.com/
2 thoughts on “Life Long Learners….

  1. Well done. A good blog post that outlines the many ways you are exposing yourself to new ideas, new skills and new communities by reaching out through new networks. Your discussion and reflection share your passion and excitement for this next phase of your career well. You have some great ideas and useful strategies, as well as some good tags to add subjects to your post. More multi-media (images, videos, links) would be useful.

    Like

  2. Hi Katie,
    I’m looking forward to the BCTLA Conference too! I am also looking forward to learning more about Makerspaces. We have a 3D printer so far, but I am keen to discover other tools that would be a good fit.

    Alan

    Like

Leave a Reply

