Reflecting on the Research Process..

As I mentioned in my previous post, I found it a bit difficult to wade through the vast amount of information out there on the internet. I was able to find lots of resources but I found myself getting overwhelmed by the variety and amount of it. I did however, find it very exciting seeing the amount of student friendly information on digital literacy that is available. I worried as I was researching that I may not be picking the best article or website, I feel like this is a similar worry that our students may have when given the task to research a topic.

Many of the eBook resources and online journal articles that I found we very technical. They were full of lots of great information but I found them somewhat tedious to read through and they were dry.  I was much more engaged with the TEX Talks on digital identity and digital citizenship and the interactive websites I found.

The interesting thing about researching is that I am still learning, so it is really great to show the students that I am learning while they are learning. We can work together to figure out the problems and work together to create solutions for them. This research allowed me to find to resources that I will be able to use in my classroom this year, I’m very excited to try kahoot with my students. I chose my articles, videos and websites based on interest. I was on the hunt for useable resources that could be easily integrated into my classroom.

I was able to find some great kid friendly resources on social media and digital identity.Also, I found an incredible social networking site created by a teen who worried for the safety of his peers. He wanted a safe environment for his peers to interact and connect without the worry of cyber bullying.  While watching the TEDx speech by Dr. Alec Curous, I was reminded that students these days have no line between on their online world and their real life world. Students face a world where a mistake they make can be recorded and shared over, and over, and over again. This is unfair and if we can do anything to help our students navigate this world safely, we as educators should. The key learning is to understand the digital world our kids live in and help them navigate it safely and productively.

Works Cited:

Hartley, John. The Uses of Digital Literacy. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction, 2011. Books.google.ca. Web. 22 Sept. 2016.

Marsh, Jackie. Popular Culture, New Media and Digital Literacy in Early Childhood. London: RoutledgeFalmer, 2005. Books.google.ca. Web. 22 Sept. 2016.

“Kahoot!” Kahoot! N.p., n.d. Web. 23 Sept. 2016.

IT FEATURES. “What Is Digital Literacy?” YouTube. YouTube, 11 Jan. 2014. Web. 23 Sept. 2016.

Belshaw, Doug. “The Essential Elements of Digital Literacies.” YouTube. YouTube, 22 Mar. 2012. Web. 22 Sept. 20

Marks, Zach. “Digital Citizenship and You!” Grom Social. N.p., 17 Oct. 2015. Web. 22 Sept. 2016.

Couros, Alex. “Identity in a Digital World – TEDx Langley Ed.” TED: Ideas worth Spreading. Youtube.com, 17 Mar. 2015. Web. 20 Sept. 2016.

One thought on “Reflecting on the Research Process..

  1. Excellent reflective post that shares your passion, excitement and challenges you’ve overcome to explore and research your topic. Great narrative style post to explain to your readers what they also might experience when researching these topics and ideas. You have amassed a great collection of resources that will serve you well moving forward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

